Your Suggestions Sitemap 繁體中文
The Central Oasis
 

In his Policy Address of 2009-10, the Chief Executive proposed a new initiative called “Conserving Central”, which was aimed at achieving a balance between development and conservation.  As part of this initiative, the Urban Renewal Authority was tasked to revitalize the Central Market.

Given the high density and the need for better air ventilation in busy Central, URA proposes to adopt ‘Central Oasis’ as the theme for this project. The objective would be to introduce more greenery into Central and to create an amenity space for the public, especially the working population in Central, for their enjoyment of a variety of leisurely and relaxing activities throughout the day.

Situated strategically, and easily accessible from Des Voeux Road Central, Queen’s Road Central and Jubilee Street, the Central Market building connects major commercial centres in the district, including the IFC and Exchange Square through a foot bridge system. It also connects with the mid-levels escalator system that takes people to the former Police Married Quarters site on Hollywood Road, the Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum and the Historical Trail.

The area where the market is located was a market place for century. There had been demolitions and re-buildings in 1842, 1857, 1895 and 1939. The latest one built is the fourth generation. It is one of the examples of the Streamline Moderne architecture. The building is also characterized by the building’s slim horizontal lines and functionalism. In March 2003, the Central Market ceased to operate.

Invitation for Expression of Interest for the Main Operator of URA Central Market Revitalization Project

"Central Oasis" Design Concept Roving Exhibition and Public Forum
"Central Oasis"
Design Concept


International Forum on Conservation and Adaptive Reuse of RC Buildings
Oasis Gallery Artists Partnering Organization Scheme
Comics@CentralUrban Renewal Authority

Last Revision Date: Email to Friends Print this page Important Notices Copyright Notices Disclaimer Privacy Policy

您的建議 網站地圖 English
城中綠洲
 

行政長官在2009-10年度施政報告中提出「保育中環」,尋求在經濟發展與文化保育之間取得平衡,並委託市建局進行活化中環街市的工作。

為配合中環高密度及需要改善空氣質素的要求,市建局建議以『城中綠洲』為活化中環街巿的主題,目的為中環區引入更多綠色設施及消閒公共空間,令巿民特別是繁忙的中環上班人士,可以在一個舒適的環境下,享用多元化的設施,舒展身心。

中環街市位於中環的核心,享有地利之便,四通八達,分別在德輔道中、皇后大道中及租庇利街設有多個出入口,並連接中區主要商業中心的行人天橋系統,例如國際金融中心和交易廣場;亦連接半山自動扶手行人電梯,通往多個歷史景點,例如前荷李活道警察宿舍用地、中山史蹟徑及孫中山博物館等。

大樓所在位置過去一直用作市場。街市大樓經歷多次拆卸及重建,分別於1842年、1857年、1895年及1939年。最近一代為第四代街市大樓。大樓高四層,是現代建築簡約主義的例子,大樓的特色是簡單的橫向線條及以實用功能為主。中環街市於2003年3月停止運作。

 

城中綠洲項目 邀請有興趣人士提交主營運者意向書
過往活動

〈綠洲藝廊夥伴合作計劃〉
市區重建局

最近更新 電郵給朋友 打印此頁 重要告示 版權公告 免責聲明 私隱政策聲明